article header picture

Heiderscheid crashes into 9th place

Last Friday, Colin Heiderscheid sprinted to 9th place at the Youngster Coast Challenge. The young Luxembourger crashed just meters before the line and saw his chances for a top result in this Belgian race disappear.

Being the U23 event of the more known Handzame Classic, the riders gathered in Bredene in the early morning for the start of this163 kilometer long race. With a route that contained several cobbled sections, three tough climbs - one of them being the Kemmelberg - and a passage through the section of 'De Moeren', one knew that the race could become a very difficult one. In all turned out the other way. Although there was an average speed of 45 kilometers in the first hour, there were no difficulties for any participant since their was almost no wind, clear sunshine and flat roads. However, when the race hit the Heuvelland region, things changed. After the descent of the Kemmelberg, the bunch split and all Leopard riders were present in the first group of about seventy riders. From this group, eleven attackers went up the road. Luckily, they got caught back later, as there was no one representing the Leopard colors in front. The race finished on a 10 kilometers long local circuit Koksijde. There were the usual attacks, but the pack was in control the whole time and the race was decided in a bunch sprint finish, in which the Leopard guys lost eachother a bit. In the end, sprinter Colin Heiderscheid took some risks, crashed, but still crossed the line in ninth place. The 21-year-old is okay and only has some bruises.

Colin Heiderscheid: "I felt really good during the race and I was never in difficulties. I was aiming for a top result, but in the sprint I crashed over the line. Therefore I am not satisfied with the ninth place at all. I am ready to move on and with the form I have, I can really look forward to Gent-Wevelgem U23 and the Triptyque des Monts et Châteaux."

Results Youngster Coast Challenge (UCI 1.2U)
9. Colin Heiderscheid (LUX) s.t.
25. Pit Leyder (LUX) s.t.
41. Mario Spengler (SUI) s.t.
50. Filip Maciejuk (POL) s.t.
63. Arthur Kluckers (LUX) s.t.
92. Bas Van Belle (NED) s.t.