article header picture

Leopard Pro Cycling resigns riders for 2019

One month after the last race of Leopard Pro Cycling’s 2018 campaign, the team presents its riders that will form the core of the roster for 2019. Amongst others Alexander Krieger, Pit Leyder, Szymon Rekita and Filip Maciejuk will continue to ride for the Luxembourgish UCI Continental Team.

Six new riders will be presented in the coming weeks

2018 has been a very successful year for Leopard Pro Cycling. The team has been able to perform throughout the year - starting with the second GC position at the Tour de Normandie, through an impressive five days at the Tour de Luxembourg, all the way to the strong performances at the Deutschland Tour - and is therefore happy to announce that is has been able to keep most of its core intact for the upcoming season. Eight riders have been offered a spot on the roster: Germans Konrad Gessner and Alexander Krieger, Filip Maciejuk and Szymon Rekita from Poland, Swiss rider Mario Spengler and Luxembourgers Pit Leyder and Gaëtan Pons. The team has also reserved a place for Pit Schlechter, who is already representing the team for seven seasons. The Luxembourger combines racing with work and will decide about his future in a later stage.

Four riders that rode in the Leopard colours in 2018 will not continue to do this in 2019. German Jan Brockhoff decided to end his cycling career after three seasons at Leopard and focus on a social career. Charlie Quarterman moves back to the UK based Zappi Racing Team, whereas Belgian Jens Reynders and Luxembourger Luc Wirtgen will join the AGO-Aqua Service team.

Markus Zingen, Team Manager: "I am happy that we can keep most of our riders in the team after a very impressive and satisfying 2018 season. Together with the six new guys that we will announce later on, I am convinced we have built a very strong and well-balanced team for 2019. I am already looking forward to the first team gathering prior to the coming season and hopefully we can even outdo the results we had this year."

Leopard Pro Cycling 2019*
GER - Konrad Gessner
GER - Alexander Krieger
LUX - Pit Leyder
POL - Filip Maciejuk
LUX - Gaëtan Pons
POL - Szymon Rekita
LUX - Pit Schlechter
SUI - Mario Spengler

*Six new riders will be presented in the coming weeks